GPO Intel Research

CoreTrust added members for fifteen months and none of them were spending members

October 4, 2026

Share LinkedIn Email

CoreTrust's homepage carried two member counts side by side for fifteen months: total members and spending members. Between March 2025 and June 2026 the total it published rose from 3,500+ to 3,700+ while the spending count stayed at 3,500+ in all fifteen readable captures. Over the same span its spend figure never moved off $7 billion. The twentieth-anniversary release of September 29, 2026 reports "more than 4,000 impact-driven members" and does not carry the spending count at all.

What the company published, and when

Each row is a capture of CoreTrust's own homepage, read October 4, 2026.

Date readAggregated spendMembersSpending membersContracts / suppliers
2024-02-26not stated3,000+not statednot stated
2024-09-11$7.2B+ "spend under management"; $7B+ "in spend"3,000+not stated100+ supplier contracts
2024-11-02not stated3,000+not stated80+ pre-negotiated
2024-12-13not stated3,000+not stated80+ pre-negotiated
2025-01-05not stated3,000+not stated80+ pre-negotiated
2025-02-15not stated3,000+not stated80+ pre-negotiated
2025-03-05$7B annual aggregated spend3,500+3,500+125+ contracts, 80+ suppliers
2025-04-09$7B3,500+3,500+125+, 80+
2025-05-19$7B3,500+3,500+125+, 80+
2025-06-02$7B3,500+3,500+125+, 80+
2025-07-09$7B3,700+3,500+125+, 80+
2025-08-01$7B3,700+3,500+125+, 80+
2025-09-10$7B3,700+3,500+125+, 80+
2025-10-15$7B3,700+3,500+125+
2025-11-14$7B3,700+3,500+125+, 80+
2025-12-08$7B3,700+3,500+125+, 80+
2026-01-13$7B3,700+3,500+125+, 80+
2026-02-09$7B3,700+3,500+125+, 80+
2026-03-07$7B3,700+3,500+125+, 80+
2026-04-12$7B3,700+3,500+125+, 80+
2026-06-10$7B3,700+3,500+125+, 80+
2026-09-29 release$7B annual aggregated spendmore than 4,000not stated125+ contracts, 80+ suppliers

Two captures in this span could not be retrieved and are omitted rather than interpolated. Four captures in early 2024 were readable and carried none of these figures.

The growth is in members who do not spend

The June 10, 2026 page says "uniting the purchasing power of 3,700+ members" in one place and, on the panel addressed to suppliers, "Gain access to 3,500+ spending members in new markets."

The two counts were identical at 3,500+ when the spending figure first appeared in March 2025. The total rose to 3,700+ by July 2025. The spending count did not move in any capture after that.

Our read: on the company's own published floors, every member added between March 2025 and June 2026 was a member who does not spend. That is the distinction CoreTrust itself draws, and it is the one that matters to a supplier, because a member who does not spend is not reachable through the contract. The anniversary release reports the larger number and drops the smaller one.

The spend figure has not moved in eighteen months

"$7B in annual aggregated spend" first appears in the March 5, 2025 capture and is still the figure in the September 29, 2026 release. In that window CoreTrust acquired BuyQ, launched a public-sector cooperative with Houston and Los Angeles as lead agencies, launched CoreTrust Europe, expanded its Coupa partnership, added Ramp and Deal IQ, and signed a cooperative contract with Carahsoft.

Our read: the figure is the company's own and we carry it in its own words. What the series shows is that it has not been revised upward across eighteen months of announcements. It does not show that underlying spend is flat, because a company restates a round figure for reasons that have nothing to do with measurement.

What happened to BuyQ's four thousand schools

The anniversary release describes the BuyQ acquisition as "extending specialized procurement resources to over 4,000 charter and private schools nationwide." CoreTrust acquired BuyQ in November 2025.

The homepage said 3,700+ members on November 14, 2025. It still said 3,700+ members on June 10, 2026.

Our read: the schools did not enter the published member count in the seven months after the acquisition. The "more than 4,000 members" and the "over 4,000 schools" in the same release are counts of different populations, and the first does not contain the second.

What these numbers can and cannot carry

Most of them are floor claims. 3,700+, 3,500+, 80+ and 125+ each state a floor rather than a value. A floor that does not move is consistent with an underlying number that moved a long way. What the series establishes is what CoreTrust chose to publish, and the pointed fact there is that it raised one floor and left the other alone.

The construct changed more than once. "Spend under management" in September 2024 and "annual aggregated spend" from March 2025 are not stated as the same measure, and the September 2024 page carried $7.2B+ and $7B+ in two places. The anniversary release adds a third label, describing CoreTrust in its closing paragraph as "leveraging $7 billion in annual purchasing power." Purchasing power and aggregated spend are different things.

This is the homepage only. CoreTrust states figures in releases and elsewhere that this series does not cover. Its live site was not readable on October 4, 2026, returning a bot-verification challenge, so nothing here is a statement about what it says today.

What GPO Intel will watch

Whether the spending-member count reappears, and at what number. Whether the next disclosure revises the spend figure, and under which of the three labels. Both will be recorded against CoreTrust when they appear.

Missing something, or have we got something wrong? Tell us. If you sell through CoreTrust, the number that decides whether the channel is worth the fee is the spending-member count, and the company stopped publishing it.

---

*Sources. The September 29, 2026 figures, the quoted strings, the BuyQ description and the named executives are from CoreTrust's own release, "CoreTrust Celebrates 20 Years of Trusted Partnerships and Shared Value-Driven Growth," distributed by Business Wire September 29, 2026 at 9:00 AM EDT, read October 4, 2026 in two independent wire mirrors carrying identical body text. Every dated row above is a capture of CoreTrust's own homepage at coretrustpg.com held by the Internet Archive, each retrieved October 4, 2026 at the timestamp given; the quoted strings are the company's own words at that capture. The series was read twice in two independent passes and the rows agree at every timestamp both passes retrieved. Two timestamps in the span could not be retrieved in either pass and are omitted rather than interpolated. CoreTrust's live site was not readable on October 4, 2026, returning a bot-verification challenge rather than the page. The BuyQ acquisition date, the public-sector launch, CoreTrust Europe, the Coupa, Ramp and Deal IQ partnerships and the Carahsoft contract are from GPO Intel's record of CoreTrust's own announcements. No figure here is added to, netted against, or divided by another, and no percentage of CoreTrust's ownership is stated because none is public.*

More on

GPO Intel Weekly, free edition

The week in group purchasing, analyzed. Each headline and its two facts, every week.

Free · an email for each new piece · unsubscribe anytime

The record supplies the paper. People supply the meaning.

Public documents show what was decided and announced. They cannot show how a category actually gets bought, why a renewal went the way it did, or what the room sounded like when the call was made. That is what GPO Intel's Expert Network exists to capture.

If you have run a category, sat on a committee, carried a bag for a manufacturer, or worked the health-system side of these relationships, we ask short questions only people like you can answer. Asynchronous, answered from memory, screened before publishing, attributed on your terms (named, title only, or anonymous), and never about your current employer.

Join the Expert Network

Expert contributors are paid for approved answers, as a share of revenue for as long as the answer is used. Contribution does not affect coverage.